Wells Independents put forward a candidate in each of the three wards of Wells for the City Council by-elections on Thursday 6th May. Of these, Sarah Powell in Central Ward was elected, with Denise and Caroline coming close second place in St Thomas’ and St Cuthbert’s Wards respectively.

Sarah Powell – Central Ward

I came to Wells just over 26 years ago to start a family and to be closer to the family business, Basil Powell Shoes. I am proud to stand for Wells Independents and if elected will represent the people of Wells by listening, acting on any concerns you may have and working with all councillors to continue to make Wells a vibrant, forward-thinking and happy city to live and work in.


  • Sarah Powell (Wells Independents): 318 (elected)
  • Tanys Pullin (Conservative): 191 (elected)
  • Sean Sloan (Conservative): 162
  • Amanda-Jane Bayley (Lib Dems): 151
  • Jenny Williams (Labour): 149

Denise Denis – St Thomas’ Ward

After running a Care Home for 23 years, I moved to Wells six years ago as a positive and very happy choice. I am an active volunteer in Wells U3A, Wells Dementia Action Alliance, Wells Coronavirus Network and Somerset Sight, so I have seen how the strength of community is key to why Wells is such a great place to live. It would be an honour to be elected as a Wells Independent councillor to work hard to serve the residents of St Thomas’ Ward and support efforts to rebuild the post-Covid economy of Wells.


  • Tracy Leach (Conservative): 603 (elected)
  • Denise Denis (Wells Independents): 579
  • Adam Fyfe (Labour): 377

Caroline Lowndes-Northcott – St Cuthbert’s Ward

I have lived in the Wells area for 28 years and have seen my children and now grandchildren grow up in our beautiful city. I am keen to help Wells look ahead towards a diverse and exciting future while keeping in touch with our wonderful historical heritage. We have much to be grateful for here, and I would like the opportunity to put back my energy and enthusiasm into the community which has given me so much.


  • Seb Johns (Conservative): 534 (elected)
  • Caroline Lowndes-Northcott (Wells Independents): 397
  • Eileen Webber (Labour): 262